6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Kent Life today CLICK HERE

Self: Image and Identity spring exhibition preview lunch held at Turner Contemporary

PUBLISHED: 16:16 06 March 2015 | UPDATED: 16:16 06 March 2015

Ishbel Myerscough with sitter Chantal Joffe in front of Myserscoughs painting, Two Girls

Ishbel Myerscough with sitter Chantal Joffe in front of Myserscoughs painting, Two Girls

Manu Palomeque 07977074797

To celebrate the opening of its spring exhibition 'Self: Image and Identity - from Van Dyck to Louise Bourgeois' (until 10 May 2015), the Margate gallery hosted a lunch to thank lenders, funders, partners and artists who all helped to realise the show

To celebrate the opening of Turner Contemporary’s spring exhibition ‘Self: Image and Identity – from Van Dyck to Louise Bourgeois’ (until 10 May 2015), the Margate gallery hosted a lunch to thank lenders, funders, partners and artists who all helped to realise the show. The preview lunch, catered by Turner Contemporary’s café Leafi, was attended by around 60 guests including the gallery’s stakeholders, trustees, exhibition sponsor St Lawrence College and artists. Speeches were given by Turner Contemporary’s Chairman John Kampfner and Director Victoria Pomery (see also page 28) and Sandy Nairne, Director of the National Portrait Gallery, which has lent more than 70 artworks to the exhibition. These include Van Dyck’s final Self-portrait (1640-1); the Turner is the first venue where visitors can see this work as it embarks on a three-year national tour. Among guests such as Sir Roger Gale, Conservative MP for North Thanet and Sue Bowers, Head of Heritage Lottery Fund, were artists whose self-portraits feature in the exhibition, including Antony Gormley, Jeremy Millar, Yinka Shonibare and artist-in-residence Felicity Allen, whose Dialogic Portraits series is currently on display in the gallery’s Learning Studio.

PICTURES BY: MANU PALOMEQUE

More from Out & About

Nicknamed 'The Bubble', we take a look at a place famous for oysters, pristine pebble beaches and stunning sunsets. Whitstable really is one of kind

Read more

Our county town has always had a lot to offer, blending a riverside setting and important history with a modern town centre and an expanding population

Read more

Smallhythe Place is celebrating a triple milestone this summer with a special exhibition and live performances

Read more
Friday, June 28, 2019

From an underground, shell-covered cave to one of the world's smallest theatres, Margate has so much to see and do. We have gathered some great things to do when you visit

Read more

Put away your digital devices and get back to nature with a few nights under canvas and the starry night skies this summer

Read more
Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Kent has a wealth of beautiful gardens to visit and throughout the open garden season you'll find an array of stunning choices. Here's a selection of our favourites

Read more
April 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019

Enjoy a short urban walk rather than a country stroll this month, as we follow the course of the ancient Pent stream

Read more
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Try our pick of some of Kent's best boat trips: With everything from a wildlife spotting jaunt down the Stour to a jetboat adventure on the Medway, there's something for everyone

Read more
Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Kent has many villages that exude historical charm and a traditional village atmosphere beloved by locals and visitors. Here we pick 10 of the prettiest to explore

Read more

Sandwiched between two of Kent's trendiest towns, this peaceful little seaside resort has been overlooked for years. It's time for Herne Bay to take centre stage

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
Kent Life Food & Drink awards. Open for entries.

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook


Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search

Most Read

Latest from the Kent Life