6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Kent Life today CLICK HERE

Review: The Merry Wives of Windsor at Shakespeare's Globe

PUBLISHED: 16:03 29 May 2019 | UPDATED: 16:24 29 May 2019

Pearce Quigley as Falstaff and Bryony Hannah as Mistress Ford in The Marry Wives of Windsor at Shakespeare�s Globe, running until 12 October 2019 (photo: Helen Murray)

Pearce Quigley as Falstaff and Bryony Hannah as Mistress Ford in The Marry Wives of Windsor at Shakespeare�s Globe, running until 12 October 2019 (photo: Helen Murray)

Copyright Helen Murray 2019

Sarah Sturt reviews the jazz-age twist of Shakespeare's The Merry Wives of Windsor at the Globe

A standing ovation greeted the cast of The Merry Wives of Windsor for their opening night performance of the only comedy that Shakespeare set in his native land.

Double-meanings, disguises and dirty laundry abound as Sir John Falstaff sets about improving his woeful financial situation by wooing both Mistress Page and Mistress Ford. The corpulent, hell-raising knight from the Henry IV plays pens and delivers two identical love letters suggesting the ladies contravene their marriage and cheat on their husbands. But the 'Merry Wives' quickly cotton on to his tricks and decide to have a bit of fun of their own at Falstaff's expense…

While director Elle While gives The Merry Wives of Windsor a 1930's slant, from the gorgeous fashion to the live jazz band and dance, it's a production that feels bang up to date in its celebration of women and the bonds - and shared humour - of female friendship. With a witty mix of verbal and physical humour, delivered at a breakneck pace - not to mention an outrageous number of ad libs - it rejoices in a tradition that extends from pantomime and vaudeville right up to today's TV comedy sitcoms.

At the heart of this nimble production is Pearce Quigley's stunning Falstaff, a very different take on the typical drunken rabble rouser we're used to seeing. Portrayed here as a sarcastic, northern, melancholy outsider, he engages the audience (casually emptying a shoe full of Thames water over a group of giggling teenage groundlings, for example) without overtly playing to the crowd. And in the manner of Shakespeare's most memorable comic creations, he invites our hilarity as well as our pity.

Richard Katz's camp, Franglais-spouting French physician is a far more over-the-top performance but still a hugely watchable and hilarious one, while the two Meet the Midwife actors, Sarah Finigan (Mistress Page) and Bryony Hannah (Mistress Ford) delight as the best mates - the latter in particular during the frisky whip-cracking of a lusty Falstaff drawing one of the night's biggest audience reactions.

Undoubtedly one of Shakespeare's silliest of comedies, it also feels very 2019, with the women ending up on top and the men being taught a thing or two about how to behave. Watching with one of my 'besties', we laughed out loud at the bawdy humour but also relished the message of female empowerment - not least in the guise of Boadicea Ricketts' feisty, very 21st-century Anne Page who gets her man - her way.

A genuinely fun, at times surprising, night and a reminder that the less well-known of Shakespeare's plays can, in the right hands, be as entertaining as your tried and trusted Dreams and Twelfth Nights.

Do go and watch - just mind that cheeky Falstaff if you're a front row groundling …

Book your ticket now

*Kent Life was offered free tickets in return for a review

More from Out & About

Put away your digital devices and get back to nature with a few nights under canvas and the starry night skies this summer

Read more

Kent has a wealth of beautiful gardens to visit and throughout the open garden season you'll find an array of stunning choices. Here's a selection of our favourites

Read more
April 2019

Enjoy a short urban walk rather than a country stroll this month, as we follow the course of the ancient Pent stream

Read more
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Try our pick of some of Kent's best boat trips: With everything from a wildlife spotting jaunt down the Stour to a jetboat adventure on the Medway, there's something for everyone

Read more
Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Kent has many villages that exude historical charm and a traditional village atmosphere beloved by locals and visitors. Here we pick 10 of the prettiest to explore

Read more

Sandwiched between two of Kent's trendiest towns, this peaceful little seaside resort has been overlooked for years. It's time for Herne Bay to take centre stage

Read more

If you love being active and out in the fresh air, there are plenty of ways you can combine both with helping your community

Read more
Thursday, June 13, 2019

Walking through the delightful valley of Elham is an absolute treat. Enter an oasis of peace and quiet with a whole array of shops and pubs in Elham at the end

Read more

With its unique landscape, rich history and strong cultural identity, we take a look at the Romney Marsh and the towns of Hythe and New Romney

Read more

This popular coastal town offers everything from wild walks and urban art to regenerated spaces

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
Kent Life Food & Drink awards. Open for entries.

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook


Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search

Most Read

Latest from the Kent Life