6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Kent Life today CLICK HERE

Restaurant review: Whits of Walmer

PUBLISHED: 11:30 27 March 2018 | UPDATED: 12:19 27 March 2018

Food at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)

Food at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)

Manu Palomeque 07977074797

We had Twinkles to start and lingered until midnight – here’s why the chef-patron at Whits of Walmer won Chef of the Year in our 2017 Food & Drink Awards

The description ‘homely’ is over-used to the point of cliché, but sometimes you come across a place that just is “simple but cosy and comfortable, as in one’s own home.” And that suits Whits of Walmer to a T.

You can’t miss the blue-painted building on The Strand en route to Deal and once through the front door, you’re met by the sight of a cosy bar warmed by a cheery fire in a brick-built fireplace surrounded by well-worn armchairs, cook books on shelves and pics of mine host with other famous faces.

There is also a clutch of framed Kent Life awards, including the most recent from 2017 when Steve Whitney won the title Chef of the Year against very tough competition.

Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)

And it’s that accolade that has brought My Glamorous Friend and I cross-county to find out just why our readers nominated this very happy chap in Walmer in their droves.

Steve and his wife Eva, who run Whits as a team, first met 19 years ago at Anton Mosimann’s private dining club in Belgravia, where Eva was General Manager and Steve was Executive Chef.

They had their own restaurant together in London then two years ago decided to go back to Steve’s roots (he was born in Ramsgate and studied at Thanet College) and move to a coastal spot in Kent, acquiring this former 15th-century smugglers’ pub in Walmer.

Dessert at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)Dessert at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)

It’s a partnership that works seamlessly and it is Eva who greets us warmly, ushers us to our corner seat in the small dining room (26 covers with eight at a squeeze in the snug and 22 in the garden in warmer weather) and suggests we start with ‘Twinkles.’ And who indeed could resist vodka, elderflower cordial and prosecco in one glorious cocktail?

The group next to us introduce themselves, explaining that they’re celebrating a 70th birthday and ‘might get a bit loud’. We’re cool with that and actually can’t wait to see a bit of dancing on tables as the night progresses.

They also tell us how much they love Whits and, despite it being still such a relative newcomer to the Kent restaurant scene, the impression is that everyone does know everyone – and the lovely Eva certainly does. The ‘happy vibe’ here stems from her: charming, funny, knowledgeable, the service she leads is effortlessly superb.

The cosy dining room (photo: Manu Palomeque)The cosy dining room (photo: Manu Palomeque)

Steve, now 60 and not chasing stars anymore (though he’s chuffed to bits about his Kent Life awards: local is what he’s all about these days) has worked in some of London’s finest five-star hotel kitchens and cooked for celebrities and royalty, including Princes Charles, Edward, William and Harry and the Duke of Edinburgh. And now us!

As we nibble darkly delicious treacle bread made by a master baker based in Sandwich, Eva talks us through the daily changing blackboard specials (usually two or three starters and three main-courses) and the nicely concise à la carte.

Two dishes immediately stand out for me and I plump for the local lobster ravioli with spinach and lobster sauce to begin, which Eva suggests I accompany with a glass of Sancerre, Domaine Berthier, 2016 (perfect). The flavour of both the lobster claw and pasta filling is intense and true and enhanced by a rich sauce that is saved from being too sweet by that brilliant addition of spinach.

Chef at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)Chef at Whits of Walmer (photo: Manu Palomeque)

Across the table MGF opts for a salad of three generously sized, pan-fried scallops with caramelised parsnip purée and a classic French sauce vierge. She loves the intriguing hot and cold mix and the intense ‘hit’ of the slightly spicy salsa verde, which really brings the dish to life.

My main course is another favourite of mine and turns out to be Steve’s too – roast fillet of local hake served with braised fennel, chorizo, red pepper pearls, octopus and mussel broth.

The powerful Basquaise flavours really complement the wonderfully fresh local hake and I reckon this could convert the staunchest non-fish eater: it’s robust, colourful and packed with gutsy flavour – so much so that only a juicy red will do, this time a 2016 Romanian Pinot Noir, Three Realms.

MGF went minimalist with her délice of local turbot served with slightly citrusy crushed new potatoes, broccoli and Hollandaise sauce.

I learn that ‘délice’ refers to a folded fillet of fish and I am reliably informed how equally ‘delicious’ it is – as Eva says, there’s nowhere to hid with a dish as deceptively simple as this and each element was executed impeccably.

We’d enquired before ordering as to whether we needed to add side dishes and were relieved we’d listened to Eva: this is not one of those places where mains need ‘padding out’ with extras; portions are generous to a fault.

And so it was after a very long requested break that we thoroughly enjoyed our desserts – mine a favourite hot and cold chocolate fondant with white chocolate ice cream and a glass of Maury, 2013 (perfect with chocolate).

MGF’s beautifully showcased combination of caramelised pineapple with coconut panacotta and mango ice cream is “like a variation on a tropical fruit salad, but the slightly naughtier version,” she purrs.

Our celebratory neighbours possibly enjoyed their puds even more, if that’s possible, and I was solemnly asked to note their verdict on hot banana soufflé, banana ice cream and banana and honeycomb Eton Mess: “This dessert outclasses our 40th wedding anniversary dinner at The Savoy.”

You can’t say fairer than that and Steve chuckles with pleasure when I relay the tale later over coffee in the snug. In fact we’re chatting so much we fail to notice the midnight hour has struck and we’re more than an hour from home.

“Don’t you dare fall asleep,” warns MGF, who is designated driver as she finally gets me into the car. But I was too busy rhapsodising over the evening all the way home to let her down. Just a word of warning – book ahead, as it’s only open three evenings, and skip lunch that day. You’ll thank me for it.

The twinkliest of twinkling evenings.

Meet the chef

Name: Steve Whitney

Job title: Chef patron Whits of Walmer

Tell us a bit about you

I’m 60 years old and still learning new techniques and being inspired by new ideas even after working in many top hotels and Michelin-starred restaurants

What set you apart as our Chef of the Year in the 2017 Awards?

Having a few extra years in the trade than the other finalists - and a little luck

Your main suppliers?

Fruits de Mer in Broadstairs for amazing local fish and shellfish, the Black Pig Butcher in Deal and Bartlett and White in Deal for fruit and vegetables, as well as local farm shops the White Mill at Sandwich and Rose Farm Shop on Old Haine Road in Thanet

Your signature dish?

Roast fillet of local hake, braised fennel, chorizo, red pepper pearls, octopus and mussel broth. I like this dish because the powerful Basquaise flavours showcase the fabulous local fish

Top cookery tip?

Don’t add ingredients for the sake of it

Key influences?

Anton Mosimann and Paul Gayler

Must-have gadget?

Stainless-steel surgical kitchen tongs - and my tastebuds

Dream guest?

Tommy Cooper, for a kitchen full of laughs

Breakfast this morning?

American pancakes, maple syrup and crispy bacon.

The essentials

Where: Whits of Walmer, 61 The Strand, Walmer, nr Deal CT14 7DP

01304 368881

What: Small, friendly mainly fish restaurant with classical French influences

When: Thur, Fri and Sat from 6.30pm, last reservations at 9pm, Sun lunch from 12.30, last reservation at 3.30pm

How much: lobster ravioli £10.95, turbot with new potatoes and broccoli hollandaise £26.50

More from Food & Drink

Thursday, February 14, 2019

Join the micropub revolution! This unique style of small, one-room pubs was born in Kent and has caught on with micropubs appearing all over the country. We have selected 12 of the best in Kent for you to visit

Read more

With a fabulous setting in the heart of the city, ABode Canterbury is not only a great place to stay but offers a fantastic dining experience too

Read more
February 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019

Whether you want slow cooked pulled pork, huge steaks or some surf and turf, we’ve got the meat-heavy restaurants in Kent that you need to visit

Read more
Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Cute dogs and beer – do you need anything else? We pick 10 of the best dog-friendly pubs to bring your pooch

Read more
Tuesday, January 29, 2019

From gin-inspired affairs to chocolate-themed events, there is something to suit even the most discerning customer searching for an afternoon tea to remember

Read more
Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Enjoy a delicious lunch or a few cosy drinks after one of these countryside strolls. Here are five great pub walks in Kent

Read more
Tuesday, January 15, 2019

William Boscawen on why he’s loving making the world’s oldest alcoholic drink

Read more
January 2019

Winner of Kent Life’s Restaurant of the Year 2018, family run The West House in Biddenden has now extended its charms with the addition of four guest rooms

Read more
January 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018

We have selected five festive fizz cocktails from Stuart Ovenden’s The Orchard Cook Book

Read more
Monday, December 10, 2018

Andy has a confession: he loves the side dishes almost more than he loves the roast turkey. Here are three of his all-time favourites

Read more
December 2018

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook


Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search

Most Read

Latest from the Kent Life