CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Kent Life today CLICK HERE

The Marquis at Alkham, Kent, reviewed

PUBLISHED: 16:02 14 December 2010 | UPDATED: 17:11 20 February 2013

The Marquis at Alkham, Kent, reviewed

The Marquis at Alkham, Kent, reviewed

Fine dining with a twist, deliciously local and seasonal menus plus a country village setting and luxury bedrooms mark The Marquis as a true Rising Star

The Marquis at Alkham, Kent, reviewed


Fine dining with a twist, deliciously local and seasonal menus plus a country village setting and luxury bedrooms mark The Marquis as a true Rising Star



I first encountered the young owner of The Marquis at Alkham more than five years ago when he was working with his father at The White Horse in Bridge. Ben Waltons menu then was extraordinarily ahead of its time, relying solely on local and seasonal produce now the norm everywhere, but in lean February all that time ago it felt bold and very, very brave.


Now less in the kitchen and very much the public face of his new empire, Ben is running a delightful restaurant with rooms near Dover with his sister, Hannah, who looks after the weddings and events side of this busy little operation but on this occasion also looked after us, and very nicely too.


The pretty village setting and a gorgeous Spring day certainly helped fuel expectation, and the simple but stylish 74-seater restaurant wooden floors, walls that are open brick or painted an elegant grey, comfortably upholstered high-backed chairs, darkwood tables - was reassuringly busy on a weekday lunchtime.


Named after the Marquis of Granby, who used to install his regiment in pubs, the 200-year-old building was completely gutted and refurbished before opening 18 months ago and now offers five en suite bedrooms and two cottages with lovely views of the Alkham Valley, as well as quite simply stunning fine dining.


In the kitchen is head chef Charlie Lakin who, despite being just a few days away from being a first-time father, had not only found time to forage wild garlic en route into work by bike that morning, but also kept a remarkably steady hand with his famous souffls, which people travel miles for but Im getting ahead of myself


Ben Waltons influence is all over the menus, which change daily for both lunch and dinner to keep it local and seasonal. There are just five starters, five mains and three puddings, but it still makes choosing tough you want the lot. But nibbling on home-made crisps as canaps, My Work Mate and I finally made a decision and for me, it was a no-brainer how my meal would begin.


Eating here in mid April meant I got to taste my first asparagus of the season (courtesy of Watts Farm of Orpington) in a starter that combined the tenderest green shoots with a featherlight asparagus mousse and sparklingly fresh crab salad from Jenkins of Deal. For flavour, freshness and sheer eye appeal, this was going to be a hard act to follow, especially paired with a glass of Throwley Vineyards of Favershams finest sparkling.


MWM went for the earthy appeal of wild mushroom and watercress soup, the mushrooms supplied by that well-known expert Fergus the Forager, and loved the depth of flavour and slightly grainy texture. Both courses went very well with fresh-from-the-oven home-made bread: onion and Rosemary, sun-dried tomato and granary.


Now I am aware my love for sea bass is bordering on the obsessive, but on this occasion I found heaven in the shape of piping hot pan-roast turbot (jenkins again) served with a brilliant green garden pea pure, salisfy and the best potato dish (salardaise no, me neither) Ive had in a long time. Try it with Biddenden Vineyards award-winning Ortega for maximum local appeal.


My dining chum knows her stuff when it comes to meat and thoroughly approved of Dexter beef on the menu. Fresh from Sladden Farm literally just up the road, this is our smallest native breed and produces a traditional type of beef, with a greater level of fat marbling than is seen in your average supermarket type. Her cut of braised neck in Black Pig ale was meltingly tender, the accompanying blankette of turnip, tiny fresh broad beans and creamed potato providing the perfect accompaniment.


Youd think Charlie would have peaked by now, but oh no desserts are seemingly his forte, and his souffls so popular he darent ever take them off the menu for fear of riots. Suffice it to say, if youve never had his passion fruit souffl, served warm with ice-cold chocolate sorbet on the side, youve not properly lived.


And a rhubarb Eton Mess, with honeycomb on the top and a blob of pink rhubarb mousse on the side disappeared so fast I swear it didnt touch the sides. There is a fantastic looking cheeseboard, too, including two Kent varieties, but maybe next time


I honestly didnt expect to be this impressed, but I am: this is seriously accomplished cooking, with its (local) heart firmly in the right place and a capacity for invention and execution that is commendable. Great service from a young team, stunning presentation skills, a super setting and a Michelin Rising Star already in the bag, theres a very bright future ahead for The Marquis.



The Marquis at Alkham


Alkham Valley Road


Alkham, near Dover CT15 7DF


*Tel: 01304 873 410


Email: info@themarquisatalkham.co.uk


Open: Tue-Sat 12-2.30pm, dinner Mon-Sat 6.30-9.30pm, Sun lunch 12-6pm,


table d'hte menu only served Mon


Prices: lunch three courses 19.50, two 15.50; dinner 24.95/39.50 three courses, tasting menu 50 seven courses


* In the Weddings supplement in our May edition we inadvertently supplied the wrong contact details for The Marquis (page 162): please use the details above to get in touch for all your wedding requirements.




MEET THE CHEF



Charlie Lakin, head chef at The Marquis of Alkham



Tell us about yourself


Im a farmers son, born in Yorkshire. I trained at Yorkshire Coast College then worked as sous chef under Andrew Pern, became head chef at the Feversham Arms, Helmsey and moved down to Deal as head chef at Dunkerleys, which was a great introduction to the area. The Marquis opened in 2008, giving me a great opportunity to use local ingredient and introduce my own style of cooking to the south east.



Whats your signature dish?


Pigs trotter a great comfort dish, with an interesting slant on the old ham n eggs.



Your top cookery tip for readers?


Make sure you practice first-time dishes before cooking them for guests, especially if it is a special occasion.



Who has influenced you most?


A wide variety of chefs Ive worked for and whose restaurants Ive eaten in. But my biggest influence has to be Simon Rhatigan owner of the Feversham Arms. He taught me that you can be comfortable doing the classics as long as they are executed to the best of your capability. Simon also taught me how to balance a dish the textures, flavours and temperatures.




Who would you like to cook for?


Lemmy from Motorhead, but if I was to choose someone from my past it would definitely be my first ever boss Ken Matthews at Bronton Forge. I worked there when I was 14, the start of my career!


Restaurants with rooms


In your area



The Dog Inn


Canterbury Road, Wingham, near Canterbury CT3 1BB


Tel: 01227 720339 Email: enquiries@thedoginn.co.uk



Grade II listed, this imposing 13th-century inn occupies a prominent position opposite the church in the pretty village of Wingham. Built in the reign of King John I and originally forming part of a monastery, it has benefited from a sympathetic restoration both outside and in by owners Richard and Sherry Martin. Tempting locally sourced dishes from the menu include brown shrimp risotto with cockles and razor clam, Wingham rare-breed pigs kidneys wrapped in their own smoked bacon and local free-range chicken wrapped in airdried ham and served with a tarragon sauce. For guests staying over, there are eight characterful bedrooms, including one four-poster room.


Open: Mon-Thu 11am-3pm, 6pm-10pm, Fri-Sun 11am-6pm, 6pm-10pm



The Black Horse


Pilgrims Way, Maidstone ME14 3LD


Tel: 01622 7371885 Email: info@wellieboot.net



Tucked beneath the North Downs on the Pilgrims Way is this homely, welcoming gastro-pub adorned with hops and beams. Using local and home-grown produce, the menu offers such dishes as asparagus tart with quails egg, roast rump of Romney Marsh lamb and Kentish Bramley apple pie with custard. A separate annexe houses 30 en-suite rooms for bed and breakfast guests.


Open: Mon-Sat 12pm-10pm, Sun 12pm-9.30pm











0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Knowledgeable, attentive service, masterful cooking and exciting food and wine pairings make Sturry’s Kathton House a must-visit and one to watch

Read more
November 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Kent’s leading drinks producer Chapel Down is to open a bar, restaurant and ‘gin works’ in King’s Cross

Read more
November 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018

Christmas Day is about celebrating with loved ones over good food and conversation, so head to one of these fantastic restaurants or cosy pubs and have a festive feast

Read more
Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Keen2Cook in Deal has been awarded a grant of £2,500 to purchase new kitchen equipment, as part of the rural energy provider’s annual funding scheme

Read more
Monday, October 22, 2018

Working with Kent Farmers’ Market Association, we put a different market in the spotlight each month

Read more
October 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Whether you want slow cooked pulled pork, huge steaks or some surf and turf, we’ve got the meat-heavy restaurants in Kent that you need to visit

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Thank you to everyone who entered and nominated and congratulations to all our finalists and winners

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

We reveal the winner of the Independent Café/Tea Room of the Year award

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

We reveal the winner of the Chef of the Year award

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

We reveal the winner of the Family Dining Award

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Latest Competitions & Offers

Subscribe or buy a mag today


subscription ad


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook


Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search